Picking up Worms

I have the song “Somewhere Only We Know,” the cover by Lily Allen, stuck in my head. Here is the link if you’d like to listen, it’s silent for the first 5 seconds or so: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mer6X7nOY_o

Just imagine listening to that while walking around, breathing in crisp, fresh air, looking up at the trees that shimmer with the golden light you only see during sunrise or early sunset. Mmmm ❤

Phew, so many things I want to talk about. I figure I’ll just pick a topic and cover most things I think about during it. But first off– Congratulations to me. I have been dieting for… 7? 8 weeks? And I have finally cut down to 25-30 net carbs (which is carbs minus protein) consumed in a day. I’m probably typically closer to 75-100 and little protein. So yes, I just wanted to pat myself on the back for this.

Anyways, I wanted to talk about my walks I try to take every morning and night.

I wake up around 4-5a everyday so I can wake up and eat so I’m ready to go for a stroll by the time the sun rises. On my walks I love to listen to music but my phone’s broken so I’m left with my thoughts instead the last couple weeks. On my walks I like to do something that seems to be deemed as ‘weird/odd’ by most people. I like to stop and pick up the worms that haven’t dried up and died yet. I live in an apartment complex, which means it has a sprinkler system where it waters the grass every morning. So I pick up the worms that are still alive, usually just barely hanging on to life. I find a puddle and get them all nice and wet, then I find a shady spot I think will stay shady for a few hours with easy access to soft dirt and place them there.

It’s strange to me that people find this weird. For a worm it’s like… as if you are trapped in a deserted parking lot with nowhere to hide as a big ball of fire rises and it cooks you alive. It’s so hot that it burns your flesh, sometimes even makes your flesh melt and stick to the pavement…. How could anyone turn a blind eye to that?

Always pick up the worms that haven’t passed away yet.

Leave a comment